Post-Decency America

the only hoodie that matters

by Leonard Pierce

So, I’m not black.

I’m able to say that I’m not white, either — ironically, through the very mechanism of white privilege.  If you’re white and you choose to reject whiteness, you are able to do so only because you’re white.  People of color can never deny their color; they carry the evidence on their faces.  So when I tell people that I’m not white, all I’m doing is calling attention to the utterly arbitrary nature of race, and try to squirm my way out of the unwanted privilege (and the oppression on which it rests) that I was born into.

Click Here for the Full Post!

0 Responses to “Post-Decency America”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

