Say, Don’t You Remember? I’m Your Pal

by Leonard Pierce

The Fourth of July used to be one of my favorite holidays.  Its location midway through the summer was a nice kick, and it was a good occasion for grilling before the money dried up and it got too hot to go outside.  But beyond that, I had the idealist’s love of America — or at least the idea of America.  No doubt I was, and am, a far-left liberal who preferred to focus on the work that needed to be done instead of dwelling on the accomplishments that had already been made; and I figured out a lot time ago that American exceptionalism was largely a tool used by the bosses to keep ordinary people from discovering the value of solidarity.  But I still felt pretty swell when I thought about the uniqueness of the American experiment, the mutable genius of the Constitution, the nation’s vastness and beauty, its infinite potential and boundless opportunity.

Click Here for the Full Post!

0 Responses to “Say, Don’t You Remember? I’m Your Pal”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

