Is This Some Kind of a…

by Leonard Pierce

For someone who has written an exciting new collection of short humor that you should buy immediately, I’ve never been particularly adept at writing, or even telling, jokes.  Jokes are rigidly formalist and require a kind of ingenuity in the telling that I’ve never quite been able to master.  You’ll never catch me calling the likes of Rodney Dangerfield a hack, because while I can engage in lexical ambiguity, literary irony, and the mini-arsenal of rhetorical tricks I copped from my betters until the cows remember they left the oven on, the old-school pros possessed a structural genius that has kept me out of the better class of smokers and strip clubs.

Click Here for the Full Post!

0 Responses to “Is This Some Kind of a…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment